fixtures View all
07/04  ACES  0   JDR Stars   1
21/04  ACES  1   M Tigers  3
25/04  All Stars  1    ACES  1
league log View all
Pos Team P W D Pts
1 Dondol Stars 30 20 6 66
2 JDR Stars FC 30 18 10 64
3 Baberwa FC 30 17 10 61
4 Dube Continental 30 17 3 54
15 ACES 30 8 1 25
scorers View all
Pos Player Tot
1 Adolf 0 1 1
2 Ntanga 0 1 1
 Match Action?
?font style="font-size:11px;">Join our free newsletter: Email address ?

Banyana Banyana shortlisted for the 2018 CAF Awards  

Print this page  | Email this article to a friend

Banyana Banyana have been selected in three categories for the 2018 CAF Awards, and now stand at the gates of glory after being shortlisted in their respective categories.

Captain Janine van Wyk and forward Thembi Kgatlana are still in the running for the African Women’s Player of the Year award.

Kgatlana finished as the top goalscorer in the 2018 Women’s AFCON with five goals – she also walked away with the Player of the Tournament accolade. She was also a nominee for the African Player of the Year award in 2017.

Van Wyk, who is the highest capped footballer on the continent, has also been nominated for this award before, back in 2016. She has led Banyana Banyana to World Cup qualification as captain. She is a double Olympian (2012 and 2016), the first South African to play in the National Women’s Soccer League in the USA. She was recently named in the CAF top players for the 2018 Women’s AFCON.

Banyana Banyana’s fine form has seen them also being shortlisted in the CAF Women’s National Team of Year – an award they won early this year. They successfully defended their COSAFA Women’s Championship title and qualified for the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup for the first time in their history.

South Africa goes toe to toe against Cameroon (2018 Women’s AFCON semi-finalists) and Nigeria (2018 Women’s AFCON finalists).

The same nations are also in a battle for the Coach of the Year category, where the respective coaches are vying for glory – Desiree Ellis (Banyana Banyana), Joseph Brian Ndoko (Cameroon) and Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria). All three nominees will be leading their teams at the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup in France in June.

Ellis is the only person to win the COSAFA Women’s Championship as both player and coach. She is also the first person to qualify the South African Senior Women’s National Team to a FIFA World Cup.

Dennerby led Nigeria to their record 9thWomen’s AFCON title, while Ellis came second and Ndoko third after pipping Mali in the third/fourth place play off.

The shortlisted nominees were decided by votes from the members of the Caf Technical and Development Committee.

The final phase will involve votes from CAF Media Experts, Legends, Coaches of the quarter-finalists of the CAF Champions League and CAF Confederation Cup, and coaches and Captains of the 54 Member Associations.

The Awards Gala will be held on Tuesday, 8 January 2019 in Dakar, Senegal.


Women’s African player of the Year

  1. Abdulai Mukarama (Ghana & Northern Ladies)
    2. Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dilian Quanjian)
    3. Bassira Toure (Mali & AS Mande)
    4. Chrestinah Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa & Houston Dash)
  2. Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Seattle Reign)
    6. Francisca Ordega (Nigeria & Washington Spirit)
    7. Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon & CSKA Moskow)
    8. Janine Van Wyk (South Africa & Houston Dash)
  3. Onome Ebi (Nigeria & Hekan Huisanhang)
    10. Raissa Feudjio (Cameroon & Aland United)
    11. Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi & Jiangsu Suning)

Women’s Coach of the Year

  1. Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
    2. Joseph Brian Ndoko (Cameroon)
  2. Thomas Dennerby (Nigeria)

Women’s National Team of the Year

  1. Cameroon
  2. Nigeria
  3. South Africa


African Player of the Year

  1. Alex Iwobi (Nigeria & Arsenal)
    2. Andre Onana (Cameroon & Ajax)
    3. Anis Badri (Tunisia & Esperance)
    4. Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
  2. Mehdi Benatia (Morocco & Juventus)
    6. Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
    7. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal)
  3. Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)
    9. Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
    10. Walid Soliman (Egypt & Ahly)

Youth Player of the Year

  1. Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmunmd)
  2. Franck Kessie (Cote d’Ivoire & AC Milan)
    3. Wilfred Ndidi (Nigeria & Leicester City)

Men’s Coach of the Year

  1. Aliou Cisse (Senegal)
    2. Herve Renard (Morocco)
    3. Moine Chaabani (Esperance)

Men’s National Team of the Year

  1. Madagascar
  2. Mauritania
  3. Uganda
December 2018
Banyana Banyana shortlisted for the 2018 CAF Awards
July 2018
Black Aces U17 ENGEN KO fixtures
April 2018
Thabo Nodada excelling!
Last game of the season vs African All Stars
Aces downed by M Tigers
Aces need points against All Stars
Aces vs JDR Stars
March 2018
Aces pipped in Vaal.
Aces up against Vaal Pro's
Aces despair continues
Aces up against Tembisa Sports Centre
Valencia pip Aces
Can Aces redeem themselves against Valencia FC
Maccabi hammer Aces to record defeat
Aces eager to stop Maccabi
February 2018
Aces pummel Garakuwa
Garankuwa up next for Aces
15-year old scores for Aces
Aces host Callies
Baberwa down Aces
Aces eager for victory
Alex Black Aces back to winning ways
Aces host Dube Continentals
January 2018
United shoot down Aces
It's United vs Aces on Saturday
Aces 0-2 Dondol
Aces host Dondol Stars
Birds down Aces
Aces start new year against Swallows
December 2017
Aces in fine win
Aces hosting Leruma United TODAY
Bad day for Aces
Aces up against African All Stars
Honours even in Tshwane
November 2017
Aces aim for 3-in-a-row
Aces vs M Tigers postponed
Can Aces tame the Tigers?
Great win by the Gold City Giants
Aces eyeing victory
Aces in fine win
Aces face Tembisa Sports Centre
Aces pipped in 7-goal classic
Aces in 6-pointer against Valencia
October 2017
Aces downed by league leaders
Aces up against league leaders
Aces 1-1 Dondol
Aces away to Dondol
Aces draw with Garankuwa
Aces searching for points
Aces back to winning ways