fixtures View all
13/12  ACES  3   Leruma United   0
13/01  Swallows FC   2    ACES  1
20/01  ACES  0   Dondol  2
27/01  Alex United  v   ACES   
03/02  ACES  v   Dube Conti   
10/02  Baberwa FC  v   ACES   
17/02  ACES  v   Pretoria Callies   
league log View all
Pos Team P W D Pts
1 Maccabi FC 17 11 3 36
2 JDR Stars FC 18 10 6 36
3 Alexandra United 18 9 6 33
4 African All Stars 17 9 5 32
12 ACES 18 5 4 19
scorers View all
Pos Player Tot
1 Mbiyozo 6 0 6
2 Zimba 3 0 3
3 Metsi 3 0 3
4 Morojele 1 0 1
5 Barends 1 0 1
6 Pienaar 1 0 1
 Match Action 
 Join our free newsletter: Email address  

South Africa narrowly edged by Malawi  

Print this page  | Email this article to a friend

The South African U17 Mens National Team (Amajimbos) lost out on the bronze medal of the 2017 edition of the COSAFA U17 Championships following their 2-1 defeat to Malawi, on Sunday, 30 July.

A brace from forward Alex Tsamba was enough for the Malawians to walk away with the bronze after he headed in two beautiful goals in the 26th and 50th minute of the match. Amajimbos were caught wondering with both goals as Tsamba cancelled out three defenders on both accounts.

Amajimbos Head Coach brought on Thabang Maema to replace Constandin Christodoulou, giving Maema his first international cap.

Ntseki then made a double substitution in search of the goal in the 64th minute when he brought on Ramatlo and Tshobeni in place of Shahabobien and McFarlane respectively. This seemed to work as Nare was fouled soon after that and the referee pointed to the penalty spot.

Malawi’s goalkeeper Nankhaima made a good save however; Nare benefited from the rebound ball and headed in the consolation goal for South Africa in the 67th minute.

We are happy to have been part of the 2017 COSAFA Cup, out main objectives have been met. We managed to play five matches, and ensure that the players were exposed to international football.

Congratulations to Malawi, they took their chances and we just did not;”said Ntseki.

This is how they lined up:

South African starting XI: Constandin Christodoulou (GK) (Maema 62); Omphile Moeletsi; Koketso Mathibe; Kieron Jacks (C); Barry Sithole; Cade Erickson; Storm Jonas ; Mohammed Shahabodien’(Ramatlo 64’); Lungile Makhambi; James McFarlene; Junior Nare

Substitutions: Thabang Maema; Joshua Momdu; Junior Khiba; Alex Da Silva; Sizwe Ntanzi; Boikanyo Segotlong; Olifile Ramatlo; Azola Tshobeni *Bryn Deelay injured during the warm up.

Malawi 2
(Tsamba 27’, 50’) South Africa 1 (Nare 67’)

Zambia 3 (P. Mumba 72, Phiri 79’, Hakwiya 81’) Mauritius 0

Group A                       P          W        D         L          GF       GA       Pts
                        3          3          0          0          9          0          9
Mauritius                    3          2          0          1          3          3          6
Botswana                    3          1          0          2          3          5          3
Zimbabwe                   3          0          0          3          1          8          0

Group B                       P          W        D         L          GF       GA       Pts
South Africa*             
3          2          0          1          10        7          6
Zambia                        3          2          0          1          10        4          6
Mozambique                3          2          0          1          4          3          6
Madagascar                 3          0          0          3          4         14         0
*SA top the pool on head-to-head against Zambia and Mozambique.

Matches Played:
Goals scored: 54
Biggest victory: Zambia 7 Madagascar 1 (Group B, July 21)
Most goals in a game: 8 – Zambia 7 Madagascar 1 (Group B, July 21)


5 goals –
Lameck Banda (Zambia), Junior Nare (South Africa), Martin Njobvu (Zambia)
3 – Chinsinsi Maonga (Malawi), Mohammed Shahabodien (South Africa)
2 – Kaone Bogosi (Botswana), Kingsley Hakwiya (Zambia), Louis Mitraille (Mauritius), Prince Mumba (Zambia), Patrick Mwaungulu (Malawi), Alex Tsamba (Malawi)
1 – Mamitina Andriamahazaka (Madagascar), Mamisoa Andriamalala (Madagascar), Jean Aristide (Mauritius), Josephy Balakasi (Malawi), Tinotendaishe Benza (Zimbabwe), Geny Catamo (Mozambique), Adriano Chiu Chung Fat (Mauritius), Dillan Fanomezantsoa (Madagascar), Alex Da Silva (South Africa), Celton Jamisse (Mozambique), Edilson Luis (Mozambique), Chikondi Mbeta (Malawi), James McFarlane (South Africa), Gerson Novela (Angola), Louis Philibert (Mauritius), Christopher Phiri (Zambia), Stéphan Rakotovao (Madagascar), Olefile Ramatlo (South Africa), Godfrey Tauyatswala (Botswana), Frank Titani (Malawi), Tathedwa Willard (Malawi)

 Courtesy: and

January 2018
It's United vs Aces on Saturday
Aces 0-2 Dondol
Aces host Dondol Stars
Birds down Aces
Aces start new year against Swallows
December 2017
Aces in fine win
Aces hosting Leruma United TODAY
Bad day for Aces
Aces Academy 2017 Awards
Aces up against African All Stars
Brad Cross selected for SA U20
Honours even in Tshwane
World Aids Day
November 2017
Aces aim for 3-in-a-row
Aces vs M Tigers postponed
Aces supports No to violence against women & children
Can Aces tame the Tigers?
Great win by the Gold City Giants
Aces eyeing victory